Shopping Cart


The Merri Soul Sessions (7" Box Set)

The Merri Soul Sessions is the twentieth studio album by Paul Kelly, which was issued on 12 December 2014 on his own label, Gawdaggie Records. Kelly had developed the concept after hearing Vika Bull sing lead vocals on her live version of his song, "Sweet Guy" – originally released as a single in June 1989 – during touring as a backing singer in his group. For the album Kelly provided lead vocals on two tracks and invited various vocalists to sing lead on the other nine of eleven tracks. Aside from Kelly or Vika Bull, individual tracks featured lead vocals by Linda Bull (her sister), Clairy Browne, Kira Puru or Dan Sultan. The album was recorded live-in-the-studio in Northcote, with Kelly co-producing with Steve Schram (Clairy Browne & The Bangin' Rackettes), alongside the Merri Creek, which gave the album its name. Kelly explained his concept to Australian Musician's junocreative, "I started to imagine a soul revue type record performed live in the studio with a variety of singers and the one band."   A series of four 7-inch vinyl AA singles in a limited edition Box Set. Only 1000 Box Sets have been manufactured.  


7 INCH 1

  1. What You Want (feat. Vika Bull)
  2. Keep On Coming Back For More (feat. Clairy Browne)  

    7 INCH 2

    1. I Don't Know What I'd Do (feat. Kira Puru)
    2. Thank You (feat. Paul Kelly)  

      7 INCH 3 

      1. Smells Like Rain (feat. Linda Bull)
      2. Don't Let A Good Thing Go (feat. Dan Sultan)   

        7 INCH 4

        1. Sweet Guy (feat. Vika Bull)
        2. Down On the Jetty (feat. Vika & Linda)